Waleskringle

26 Jul

waleskringle with raspberries

I officially have a lot of berries. When I see ripe good looking berries, I cannot resist. Wherever or whenever. (In the words of Shakira) Today I went to the mountains to pick blueberries, but on the way I found myself a new raspberry place, with so much berries, I simply couldn’t pass them. I was there for about an hour, before heading to my main goal, the blueberries. But more raspberries came my way, and I was delayed again. And to make a long story short; a couple of liters later, I was on my way home. Carrying a plastic bag with blueberries, an ice cream box with raspberries and a large cookie box with red currants in my backpack. Blue fingered and with lots of mosquito bites. But we all know sacrifices must be made to have quality jam and desserts.

I somehow managed to store most of it in the freezer, but that also meant taking out a few things. Amongst other this waleskringle that I made for 17. mai, the Norwegian national day. Waleskringle is basically puff pastry and cream puffs but together with some kind of filling. Why it’s called Waleskringle I don’t know. Maybe it has its origin in Wales..? Anyway, today was a nice day to eat it, cause I could pair it up with some fresh berries. I already had 2 boxes of storebought raspberries in my fridge waiting. And now I have 2 more liters of handpicked raspberries and red currants plus 3 liters of blueberries. Oh, the possibilities. But first I have to eat my way through what I already have. Puh! But this is a nice place to start, a lovely summer dessert/cake. My mom always used to make this for my birthday with strawberries. It’s simple but beautiful, and you can fill it with whatever you like. Whipped cream, custard, whipped cream with fresh fruit or berries, jam, rum whipped cream, pastry cream or chocolate. But the classic, like I went for today is whipped cream and custard, dusted with icing sugar. I just had to fill it since it was already made, but here’s what you do from scratch.

Ingredients
2 sheets of puff pastry
2 1/2 dl water
1/4 teaspoon salt
125 g butter
125 g flour
4 eggs

Preheat oven to 200 C
(It’s important not to take the cream puffs out of the oven too early, because they will collapse.)
Roll out the puff pastry and cut out a kringle, a ring or another shape onto the baking sheet, and prick dotts with a fork.

Bring the water to the boil under a lid. Add salt and butter and allow to melt. Turn down the heat then tip in the flour and beat vigorously with a wooden spoon. As soon as the mixture starts to come away from the side of the pan, stop beating and tip onto a plate to cool. Return the mixture to the pan, then gradually beat in the eggs, a little at a time, mixing well between each addition, until you have a smooth paste.

Fill the choux pastry in a piping bag with a starshaped nozzle and pipe roses onto the rolled out puff pastry.
Bake for 25-30 minutes until well risen and golden brown. Don’t open the door before it’s done, or it will fall together. Cool on a rack.

Cut it in half and fill with cream and custard (or your chosen filling) right before serving. Dust with powdered sugar. Or powdered sugar frosting. That’s good too. Randomly sprinkle some berries over and around, and you’re there. Enjoy the sight and have yourself a slice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

