Fluffaliscious! The best buttermilk pancakes

27 Feb

The second I spotted these babies scrolling down the Tastespotting pages I instantly knew I had a pancake weekend ahead. It’s been too long. Way too long. But I’ve never really got the pancake-thing together, so I need some time to recap between each batch. But now, it’s on. Me myself and a another pancake recipe! I particularly liked the light slightly golden colour, not to mention the thickness. They were thick, I tell you. Seriously obese. Mmm, obese pancakes. I’m not sure that sounds that good after all. But you get my point. Just take a look here.

I actually had another pancake recipe on my to-bake list, involving bananas, but this one made it to the top of the list immediately. Besides, I should probably get the basics together before experimenting and going bananas, and since this one’s called Classic Buttermilk pancakes, there was no doubt about it. And I had some buttermilk about to expire. And I’ve had a rough week. It was so meant to be.

My main pancake problem is getting them nice n’ fluffy.
They just won’t fluff. And I like my pancakes real thick. I followed the instructions precicely to get the result as seen on the web. I wanted that fluff. The key, is to let the batter rest for a while, allowing it to thicken as the flour absorbs the liquid and swells. This makes a pancake that rises more and that is far more fluffy and light. And that’s exactly what we want!

    1,5 tbs. unsalted butter; more for serving
    1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
    1/8 cup granulated sugar
    1,5 tsp. baking powder
    1/4 tsp. baking soda
    1/4 tsp. kosher salt
    1 cups buttermilk
    1 large eggs
    Vegetable oil for the griddle
    Pure maple syrup for serving

Heat the oven to 200°F/100 C.
Melt the butter in a small bowl in the microwave or in a small saucepan on the stove and set aside to cool briefly.

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a medium bowl, whisk the buttermilk and eggs. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Whisk gently until the dry ingredients are almost incorporated; stop before the batter is evenly moistened. Add the cooled melted butter and mix just until the batter is evenly moistened (there will be lumps). Let the batter rest while you heat the griddle.

Heat a griddle or a large skillet over medium heat until drops of water briefly dance on the surface before evaporating. Lightly oil the griddle. Working in batches, pour 1/4 cup of the batter onto the griddle for each pancake, spacing them about 1 inch apart. Let cook undisturbed until bubbles rise to the surface and the edges look dry, 1 to 2 minutes. Check the underside of each pancake to make sure it’s nicely browned; then flip. Cook until the second side is nicely browned, about 1 minute more. Transfer the pancakes to a baking sheet and keep warm in the oven while you repeat with the remaining batter.

The result did not disappoint. Though they didn’t quite look like the picture. But, do they ever? I guess you have to snap the photos once they’re ready to get that look. Flip them over with one hand, snap the photos with the other one. But I’m not that pro. Or well cooridnated. They sank together, loosing some of their airyness when I removed them from the griddle, but the taste – their inner beauty – made up for it. Oh la la! The best pancakes of my life! Seriously. They were just delicious. You need to try them. Serve them hot with butter, sugar and maple syrup. Lots of it. I promise you, there’s no better way to start off your weekend!

10 Responses to “Fluffaliscious! The best buttermilk pancakes”

  1. sweetlife March 1, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    “obese pancakes” haha love it..these look super it’s late and I just read your post..I’m hungry!!

    sweetlife

  2. okra March 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    my recipe is similar – but I separate the whites, and whip them to soft peaks. Add the yokes to the butter, mix ‘em all together – insta-fluff.

  3. Memoria March 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    O-M-G! Words cannot describe how amazing these pancakes look to me! Wow. They look perfect. I want these now. Goodness!!

  4. leavethetablefull March 2, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    Oh wow! These look so good! I have the same problem with getting them to fluff. I’ll have to give this recipe a shot.

  5. Peggy March 5, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    These look amazing! I love the golden crisp on the outside! I’m going to have to try this on Sunday!

  6. Susan March 24, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Since I found your recipe, I have always been doing it. I love it!! Delicious!
    Thanks so much for sharing!

  7. Delishhh April 18, 2010 at 5:10 am #

    These pancakes look amazing. I have several pancakes recipes but will have to try this out.

  8. Laura May 1, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Just made these for my kids…. they were delicious…. I have 3 very happy little boys and 3 empty plates… great recipe!

  9. latoya November 1, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    ok can you please tell me how much butter in baking powder I have no idea what 1.5 is so my pancakes was nasty in burn tasting plus I wasted 30 minutes of my time making them sooo mad everybody is like they look so good but there not please help anybody lol

  10. Malin November 5, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    Hi! It´s 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter and bakingpowder. That is about 22 grams/0.75 oz of butter. Check out this site for other measaures! :) http://www.traditionaloven.com/conversions_of_measures/

    Hope they turn out well next time! Good luck! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

