Blue cheese salad

5 Mar

I have certain food items on my mind for the time beeing. There are two main cravings going on inside my head. One is mexican food. Which I’ll probably get back to in another post. Tex-mex, tacos, chillis, nachos, guacamole and all that stuff. Yum, I’m getting hungry just typing that! The other one is blue cheese. Blue cheese this and blue cheese that is what it’s all about these days. I looove that stuff! I think my crush started when we made burgers a couple of weeks ago, and I wanted to do something different about it, and found this recipe at Pioneer Woman called My most favourite burger. And if Pioneer Woman approves, I’m all in! So I tried it, and fell in love. Yum. It was so delicious, higly recommended! And a nice twist to the plain ol’ burger. I too may have a new favourite burger. Slightly melted blue cheese, sweet caramelized onions and crisp lettuce blended perfectly together with the spicy patty. Do try!

Anyway, I was reminded of blue cheese and its exellent taste, and wanted to incorporate it into several dishes. I haven’t really been experimenting or going wild, because once I made this salad, and tasted it, no further exploring was necessary. It was perfect. I was content. There’s nothing revolutionary to it, just a simple and classic ensemble of ingredients that pairs together very well.

It can hardly be called a recipe, but it goes something like this:

Pears – crunchy pears (Conference is what I used)
Little Gem Lettuce
Blue cheese of your choice
Walnuts

That’s the base of the salad. You can add whatever you want, or nothing at all. There’s really no need for anything. But be sure not to add to much or too overpowering flavours, after all, the blue cheese plays the main part here. And the pears. This time I added some chicken just to keep my boyfriend happy.

Just toss everything together in a bowl. It’s a nice touch to roast the walnuts if you bother. Garnish with balsamic vinegar and dig in! Oh, my. It’s perfection. So if you’re like me, unaware or just have forgotten about blue cheese, bring it (back) into your life! Start today by making this salad. I promise to win you over. A little warning though: You might get hooked and want to put blue cheese in everything you make. I hear it can have that effect on some people. Ahem.

One Response to “Blue cheese salad”

  1. krissy @ the food addicts March 10, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    this is a kind of salad i won’t get bored of eating! i love that you also added caramelized onions. and is that a balsamic glaze on top? that stuff is the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

