Cheesecake ice cream

8 Jul

What a glorious idea, incorporating two of the best flavours in the world, into one fantastic dessert. Cheesecake Ice Cream.

I love cheesecake. I certainly love ice cream. And I can most definitely add cheesecake ice cream to that list.

Not surprisingly, I mean how could that ever fail? And why didn’t I try this sooner? It was so delicious, I’m already making a second batch! This is going to be a summer 2010 favourite. I can feel it.

Like the big Nigella Lawson fan that I am (and summer lover), her book Forever Summer is among my favourite cookbooks. Because of the recipes, naturally, Nigellas lovely descriptions, the photos and that it captures a feeling of summer. Whatever season it is outside. But now it is summer, and it’s time to make use of my favourite kitchen tool: My beloved ice cream maker.
In forever summer there are a number of ice cream recipes. I’ve tried several of them (Baci is higly recommended), but somehow I’ve missed out on this one until now. I’ve been thinking of making it ever since I got the book. It was one of the recipes that really stood out. You know, the ones you note to yourself. Well, so much for that note! Years have passed and no cheesecake ice cream was made. I blame myself. But all good things come to those who wait! And it was worth the wait. Luscious satiny smooth ice cream. The feel of an ice cream, but the flavour of a cheesecake. Velvety and sligthly lemony. Topped with crumbled digestive cookies. So good. Soooo goooood. If’re you’re like me – and like your cheesecake and ice cream – make this. Make it now.

INGREDIENTS

175ml full-fat milk
200g caster sugar
125g Philadelphia cream cheese
half teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 egg
juice of half a lemon
350ml double cream
50g digestive biscuits, crumbled (optional)

DIRECTIONS
Heat the milk in a pan, and while it’s getting warm, beat together the sugar, Philadelphia, vanilla and egg in a bowl. Still whisking, pour the hot milk into the cream cheese mixture and pour this back into the cleaned-out pan and cook till a velvety custard. Stir constantly, and if you think there’s any trouble ahead, plunge the pan into a sink half filled with cold water and whisk like mad. It shouldn’t take more than 10 minutes, this way, for the custard to cook. And when it has thickened, take it off the heat, pour into a bowl and let it cool, at which time add the lemon juice and then the double cream, lightly whipped.

Freeze in an ice cream maker or place into a covered container, stick it in the freezer and whip it out every hour for 3 hours as it freezes and give it a good beating, folding in the crushed digestives – if using – before the ice cream is set solid.

Like the recipe says, you can fold crushed digestives into the ice cream, making a crispy buiscuit swirl. Or you can serve th ice cream sandwiched between two buiscuits, crumble them on top or serve them on the side. Or I guess you can leave them out totally, but I wouldn’t. Digestives and cheesecake belong together. You can’t have a proper cheesecake without, and therefore no cheesecake ice cream either. You need those buiscuits for the ultimate cheesecake-ice cream experience. Have I made myself clear? Good.
Off you go! Make some ice cream!

One Response to “Cheesecake ice cream”

  1. susan July 8, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    these look fantastic. summer has arrived and so have the ice cream sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

