Cinnabon-clones! I made it!

22 Feb

kopi

Ever since I stumbled upon a Cinnabon-shop at the airport in Las Vegas, I’ve been thinking of how to recreate these delicious buns at home. Iwas on my way to NY, and in lack of a healthier choice, I picked up a cinnamon-roll to have for breakfast on the plane. Little did I know, that this breakfast my friends, would go down in history. Oh, yeah, that’s how good it was! I did not see that coming at all. Normally, I’m not a cinnamon roll-lover, but these beauties takes things to a whole other level. I had to restrain myself not to lick the paper it was wrapped in. But I felt I had to behave on the plane.  Anyway, If you’re a Cinnabon-connoisseur, you know what I’m talking about. .  So moist, so full of taste, warm and sticky.  But in Norway, they don’t exist. So, as soon as I got home I started some research, and now, after making these buns, I can find peace. I have the recipe.  

First I had to identify the frosting. Easy. Same cheesefrosting as used on carrotcakes. Secondly,  I had to find a nice dough that would give that lovely sticky feeling, and at last I had to recreate the cinnamon filling. And then, of course, put it all toghether in hopefully tasty Cinnabon cinnamon bun taste-alikes! But when I found this recipe it all became very easy.

Clone of a Cinnabon

I used another dough, though. I have an idiotproof recipe which always turns out well, so I trusted this once again.

Dough
100 gram fresh yeast (or dry if you prefer)
1 kg flour 200 gram sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cardamom
200 gram butter
6 dl milk
(Makes 20-25)

Filling
405 g brown sugar, packed
30 g ground cinnamon
140 g butter, softened

Frosting
155 g cream cheese, softened
105 g butter, softened
345 g confectioners’ sugar
5 ml vanilla extract 1 g salt

0474

Make as any ordinary dough. Mix fresh yeast with melted butter and milk , or dry yeast with flour. Knead until you have an elastic yet firm dough. Set to rise for about an hour, or until it reaches double size. So that’s exactly what I did. No surprises yet. While it was rising I started making the filling. And this is where it get’s slightly more interesting. Instead of ordinary white sugar, the recipe calls for dark brown sugar. Promising. Tasty and dark, I like it… I decided to mix the butter with the sugar-cinnamon mixture, just to make things a little easier. So when the dough had reached a nice volume, I knocked it down, rolled and stretched out it as far as I could. (Or at least within the space of the table). Quite thin, that’s my point. And then I spread the heavenly cinnamon-sugar-butter mixture on , and rolled it up tightly. Using a sharp knife, I managed to cut out the buns quite nicely. The recipe actually suggests dental floss (!) but I stick to my knife. I had to cut the dough in half before I began, so each part made about 10 buns. Set to rise for about 30 minutes. And then, bake at 225 degrees Celsius for 12-15 minutes, or until lightly golden. You don’t want to overbake them, so stay close keeping an eye on them. When they’re done, spread with cream cheese frosting, and serve while hot! That’s what it’s all about. The warmth, and the melting frosting together with that sticky cinnamon-filling. Make these, and you are in for a treat.

2 Responses to “Cinnabon-clones! I made it!”

  1. Phuong October 4, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

    Hei! Jeg skulle gjerne prøvd ut disse bollene selv, de ser deilige ut. Problemet er at linken ikke virker. Du har vel ikke oppskriften til fyllet liggende et sted?

  2. Malin October 4, 2009 at 7:13 pm #

    Jo, det har jeg!

    Fyll:
    365 g brown sugar, packed (helst mørkt brunt sukker)
    30 g ground cinnamon
    125 g butter, softened

    Glasur:
    140 g cream cheese, softened
    95 g butter, softened
    315 g confectioners’ sugar
    4 ml vanilla extract
    1 g salt

    Gled deg, de er helt fantastiske! Vanlige kanelboller blir aldri det samme etter å ha smakt disse! ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

