Leftover-pie

010

I happen to actually like leftovers. Or not so so much the leftovers as the rewarding feeling of using leftovers to make something good instead of throwing it away. It’s the housewife in me. Makes me feel good. I decided today was definitely a leftover-day. A) I had various leftovers from the past dinners in the fridge, b) not too much money to spend, and c) no real interest in going out in the cold to get ingredients. So, after a peek in the fridge to see what really was there, and a quick look in some cookbooks, I decided to make a potato-pie. Never done that before! I had some boiled potatoes and bacon as my key ingredients. So here’s what I did:

I made the pie crust of fine rhye flour, (because I didn’t have wheat) butter, salt and a splash of water. I didn’t really measure anything up, so you just have to trust your inner pie-instincts on this one. I worked it together with my fingers and pressed it into the pie form. This was going to be a quick no-fuss leftover-dinner, so it was going straight into the oven. No time for letting the dough cool in the fridge, or frying the crust before the filling. Oh no.

I cut the potatoes in medium-size pieces and put in the pie. I sliced the bacon thinly, and distributed it over and in between the potatoes.Then I sliced 1/2 red onion and spread it over the potatoes. I had a little Jarslberg and some fetacheese too, and that’s always good in a pie. Or wherever, actually… So I tore it up in small pieces and spread it evenly over the pie. I whisked together an egg, full cream and some of the oil from the glass of fetacheese. Sprinkled with salt and pepper, and poured it over the pie. Since my rosemary is still with us, I cut of some leaves to garnish the pie. And into the oven it went! 200 degrees celsius for about 30 minutes.

After 35 minutes, my pie was done. I made it real simple and ate it with just some plain rocket on the side. But it was quite good, and that’s good enough for me. A nice reward for keeping the leftovers, I’d say. So if you have some potatoes lying around, you know what to do. If you don’t, just be creative! If it’s good for me, it’s probably good for you. And besides, no one needs to know. Leftovers are usually beyond recognition when you’re done with them! Have fun!

2 thoughts on “Leftover-pie

Leave a Reply

