Spring rolls (for the lazy and clumsy)

easy spring rolls

I live by one rule: Anything that is deep fried, is good. Whatever it starts out to be, when you deep fry it, it turns out better. Or at least just really really good. Yesterday I made some deep fried bananas with syrup and ice cream (oh so good) and now I’m on a deep frying-roll! So natually, spring rolls was up next.
Well, that’s not really true. Or, I made spring rolls, that much is true, but I didn’t really deep fry them. I’ve experienced that when I deep fry spring rolls, they tend to fall apart once they enter the oil, or at least when I’m trying to flip them over or get them out of the pan. Then the filling falls out, and it turns out like bad and unwanted tempura. Then you burn yourself, and you realize the effort is way bigger than the result. And, you need a lot of oil if you’re making a nice portion – I know I always do! And however good it is with spring rolls drenched in oil, it’s not too good for either you or your wallet. So in these health-aware and hard financial times, I make them amateur-style. In the oven. (I’m lying again! I always make them like this…sorry) Save yourself from the annoyment of broken spring rolls and wasting the entire bottle of oil. Much easier and a little less oily. I’m not sure that is a good thing, but it’s definitely easier.

So this is how I make spring rolls:

Ingredients:
Spring roll wrappers
Carrots
Mushroom
Cabbage
Bean sprouts
Spring onion
Garlic
Chicken filet or beef

Well these are really just examples. You can use whatever you like or have, but those I mentioned are nice basics. I didn’t have bean sprouts, and I replaced the spring onion with leek. Doesn’t matter. It’s Sunday, I’m lazy and most of the shops are closed, so I took what I could find. The main thing after all, is that you have oil. I made mine vegetarian and the rest with chicken, for my boyfriend. I’ve come to the fact that I simply think they’re better without meat. But suit yourself.

Directions:
Chop all the vegetables quite finely.
Cut the meat in small bite size pieces.
Fry the chicken in a medium size pan until it’s evenly golden. Remove from pan.
Stir-fry the vegetables on high heat a couple of minutes. Don’t overcook them. They’re just going to turn slightly softer, but still crunchy. When they reach that point, add the chicken, a splash of soy sauce and sesame oil. Stir for about a minute and remove from heat.
And now it’s wrapping time. (This is where I exit the kitchen and leave it to my boyfriend. I’m not a good roller/wrapper. Too impatient and greedy. Which also may be why my spring rolls fall apart when I try to deep fry them – they are just too stuffed…) And 30 minutes later it’s magically spring roll time!

But if you don’t have a someone else to do the wrapping, don’t panic, it’s not hard really.
Remember to take the wrappers out of the freezer about 10 minutes before you start. And turn on the oven at 200 degrees celsius while you’re at it. Place approximately 1 tablespoon (or 2 or more if you can, after all, these wrappers come in different sizes) of the vegetable-mixture in the center of spring roll wrappers. Roll wrappers around the mixture, folding the edges inward to close.
Moisten your or someoneelse’s fingers in water, and brush wrapper seams to seal. And repeat!

Brush a baking sheet with oil, and arrange the spring rolls. Brush them generously with vegetable oil. And remember, the more, the crispier and better it will be. You’re still saving a lot of oil. Bake in preheated oven for about 25 minutes or until they turn golden and crispy. Serve with rice and sweet spring roll sauce. Sit down and eat.
Now, wasn’t that easy?

Leave a Reply

