Mushroom risotto

mushroom risotto

I’ve been really into risotto lately, and it doesn’t seem to end any time soon. I just love that creamy, soft rice together with mushrooms or whatever it is that you put into it. But I must say, mushrooms are a great companion with arborio. I bought a can of – canned mushrooms the other day, and once I saw it there in the shelves, I thought of risotto. Just one of those moments when two apparedely separate things come together as one. I could picture this risotto right there, in the isles of the supermarket. I picked it up. It was meant to be.

When I got home, I put it away with the rest of my canned food, and I forgot about it. But yesterday I rediscovered it. I was looking for something to make for dinner when I found it, and it all came very clear. I was making mushroom risotto. And that’s exactly what I did.

Ingredients for 2:
1 can of mixed mushrooms
2 fresh champignongs
2 dl arborio
2 cloves of garlic
1 small onion
2 dl white wine
parmesan
butter

First you make the broth. Whether it’s with real fresh vegetables or a boullion. (I like to use some fresh leak or onion anyway, to get some more taste to it. This time I also used the water from the canned mushrooms as well, it gave a sweet mushroomy smell.) Bring to the boil.
Cut the fresh mushrooms, and fry they until they turn soft and golden. Remove from pan.
Slice the garlic and onion into small pieces, and fry for about five minutes. Reduce the heat. Add the rice, and stir until you see the ricegrains turn transparent. Keep stirring all the time, because they can burn quite easily. This should only take a minute or so. This is where you should add the wine (or vermut can be used), and stir until all is absorbed and all the alcohol is steamed off, but I didn’t have any white wine, so I skipped to the next post. Which is start adding the boiling broth. One spoon at a time. Start with the heat on a medium level, and eventually turn it up after some time.

Let all the broth be absorbed before adding a new. And stir. And with one hand add another spoon of broth, and with the other hand, stir. Repeat this until the rice absorbs enough fluid to become soft, but with a slight chewy center.

Have you come this far, you’re almost done. Add the fresh and canned mushrooms.
Add a knob of butter, how much is up to you, but is should be at least 30 grams, and freshly grated parmesan. Stir this in rapidly, almost whipping it into the rice to make it velvety and creamy. Add more cheese or butter if you feel it needs more. Taste with salt and pepper. Serve once it’s finished with some freshly grated parmesan. And that’s it. That’s the story of a can with mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

