Veggie burger

veggie burger

I haven’t been cooking or baking enough lately it seems. Two weeks since my last post, that’s too bad. Shame on me. Well I have made several things and even taken photos, but somehow they haven’t made their way in here. I guess they weren’t worth it. But this post is. It’s burgertime folks.

Me and my boyfriend are hung up on burgers for the moment. I have to stress that I’m talking about homemade burgers, the real thing, and nothing else. A few weeks ago I was at the library, and went directly to the cookbook shelves like I always do, and picked up a book called “Burgers” by Paul Gayler. I took it home and started dreaming about all the good burgers I would make. But, one can’t live on burgers alone, so I haven’t made any of them until now. So many burgers, so little time! We were supposed to make a pork-burger last week, but ended up making a chicken burger instead. It’s already a classic, after only 2 makings. But now it was finally time to try out one of the recipes from the book. This called for something different, so I decided to try one of the veggie burgers. I like to think that’s a little healthier. It seemed like the perfect choice for a midweek burger.

There were many to choose from, but I landed on one made of millet/bulgur, zucchini and walnuts – it looked mouthwatering and I had all the neccesary ingredients. That is, I replaced millet with bulgur, and I added some beans I had in the fridge. It came out really good. I loved the taste and slightly crunchy texture. I didn’t grind the walnuts, but chopped them instead to get nice chewy chunks. Maybe that’s why it didn’t hold together all that well, but it held. It crumbled up once I took a bite, though, but who cares, that’s what veggie burgers do, right? (Right??) Just make sure the bun is big enough for the patty, that’ll do!

Ingredients:
1/2 zucchini, grated
1/2 teaspoon currypowder
100 g bulgur/millet
1 onion, finely chopped
150 g walnuts, finely chopped
50 g breadcrumbs
1 egg

Grate the squash on to a plate and sprinkle with salt. Leave it for 15 minutes for all the liquid to be absorbed. Rinse with cold water, and squeeze out all excess fluid with your hands. Leave on a kitchen towel to dry.

Boil 3 dl of water, curry and salt in a pan. Add the bulgur, remove from heat and cover. After approximately 5 minutes all the water should be absorbed. If not, and it’s too hard, add some more. Pour into a bowl and allow to cool.

Heat the oil in a non stick pan and fry the onion. Add the zucchini, and stir until it turns soft, about 5 minutes. Pour the walnuts, bulgur, and crumbs in a bowl and mix with the vegetables. Stir in the whisked egg. Taste with salt and pepper. In addition to the beans, I also added some sesame oil for a nice nutty flavour. Cool the mixture in the fridge for 1 hour. Shape it into 4 equally sized burgers, and fry them golden. Put them into your chosen bun, and what you do from here is pretty much up to your own personal taste. Be creative! Or not. I have to have mayo, lettuce, tomato and onion. And how can that possibly fail? It cannot. It was good.

Leave a Reply

