Crumble with rhubarb and ginger

rhubarb crumble

It’s funny how you can read the season by visiting the food blogs. Lately I’ve seen various rhubarb recipes popping up on every other food blog, meaning it’s this time of year. Spring, maybe early summer and definitely rhubarb season. I’ve been meaning to make something rhubarb for quite some time now. My parents have rhubarb in their garden, so that’s where I get mine from, but they’re still a little too small. But luckily, in the deep of the freezer, I discovered some rhubarb that have been waiting for almost a year. So I decided to get them out of there, and make something of them as a warm up while I’m waiting for the fresh real thing. I have so many favourites with this plant. Rhubarb and strawberry pie – the absolute taste of summer, the moistest rhubarb muffins, rhubarb compote and crumble. I’ll soon get back to them in a later post.

Although this is a slightly new version. I borrowed “Jamie at home” at the library today, and instantly set my eyes on actually all the rhubarb recipes. The pictures are so beautiful. I love this book, I have to get it. But I made a decicion, and landed on the crumble.

Ingredients: (4-6 portions)
1 kg rhubarb cut in large chunks
200 g soft brown sugar
zest and juice of 1 orange
100 g flour
100 g cold butter
100 g oatmeal
2 pieces of chopped fresh ginger

Directions:
Turn the oven to 180 degrees celcius. Put rhubarb and half of the sugar in a deep pan. Add the orange juice and zest, put the lid on and bring to the boil. Let it simmer for a couple of minutes, then remove the lid. Let it continue to simmer for 5 minutes until the rhubarb softens. Pour everything in a fireproof pan and spread it out evenly.

For the crumble:
Mix butter and flour with your fingers til it resembles crumbs. Stir in oatmeal, the rest of the sugar and the ginger. (whoops – I added the ginger to the rhubarb together with the orange….well well, I guess that works too) Spread the topping over the rhubarb and bake the crumble in the center shelf for about 40 minutes or when the topping looks golden and the rhubarb starts to bobble.

And that’s pretty much it! Allow it to cool for 15 minutes, then serve while it’s still hot with cold whipped cream, custard or ice cream. Whatever tickles your fancy. The verdict: Okay, but nothing to go crazy about. A little sour, and I prefer a tradtional crumble without the oatmeal, but for a regular tuesday, this works. Anything containing oatmeal feels kinda healthy-ish…
Good? yeah. Great? No. It will not join my favourite rhubarb recipes section, but hey, maybe yours?

Leave a Reply

