Green crunchy yummy yummy salad

favourite salad

Mmmm, salad heaven! Crunchy, stingy, tasty and healthy! Could it be?
Can we do it?
Yes we can!

Jamie Oliver can, Ree,The Pioneer Woman can, and now I can too!
I saw this dish in an episode of the Naked Chef on tv, probably a year ago, and it looked like the ultimate salad. I knew I had to make this, and I instantly knew it would be good. I don’t often think that way of salads, dreaming of them. Of cakes? All the time! But salads, not so much. So once the programme finished I started searching for the recipe on the net. I didn’t really remember the name of the dish, and I couldn’t seem to find it. I’m probably a bad googler. I guess I gave up for some time since I didn’t find the original recipe, and then I more or less forgot about it.

One year later…
Surfing the internet. Making my way through all my regular food blogs. The Pioneer Woman has created a category with her favourite recipes! Ohh, gotta check that out. Mmm, lots of good stuff her, but something named my
My Most Favorite Salad Ever. Ever, Ever, Ever! immediately caught my eye. I mean, how can one ignore that title? And as I started to read the post, I thought to myself, could this be it? The one? And yes, it was! Hooray! Finally I had the recipe. (If you think I’m making too much out of this, you obviously haven’t tasted this salad, so just shut up and eat)

For the salad you can pretty much use whatever you like, or whatever happens to be in the fridge, because the star of this dish is the dressing. But a few things can not be left out in my opinion – Cilantro, spinach, noodles, beansprouts and scallions. Especially cilantro. And make sure you have plenty. Plenty. In addition I had cucumber, sugar peas and a sprinkle of red bell pepper.

Dressing

3 tablespoons sesame oil
3 tablespoons canola oil
1/4 cup tamari soy sauce
3 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons tomato paste
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon salt

Listen carefully cause I’ll only say this once: Don’t leave anything out, it will be noticed. Ok? Ok.
(Confession time: I left out canola oil and tomato paste…I didn’t bother to go out just for that as it didn’t seem like the most important ingredients. And the salad was great, so if you have the urge to leave something out that should be it. Ok, enough with the lecturing.)

Cook the noodles and start cutting up the veggies. Mix everything together and pour the loveliness onto a big platter or a bowl. It wasnt’ very colourful since I left out the bell peppers, very green though, but I had a good feeling anyway. I believe my boyfriend’s exact words were “That’s a lot of green” when I presented this to him as dinner. But seriously, what did I expect? I served the dressing on the side so the salad wouldn’t turn soggy in case there was any left. But of course you can pour the delicious dressing over the veggies and toss it all together, just make sure everything’s evenly coated in dressing. If this gets messy, and it might, transfer it to another big platter and pour it right on. For that little extra to top it off, I toasted some pine nuts to sprinkle over the salad. It complemented the nutty sesame oil flavour and gave the salad even more crunch. We like crunch. And now. Embrace yourself, because this is truly divine. This is the mother of all salads. And from now on my favourite salad ever. Ever.

salad and the dressing of your life

3 thoughts on “Green crunchy yummy yummy salad

Leave a Reply

