Melt in your mouth scones

scones

When I served these scones to my very scone-loving friend yesterday, the first thing she said was – Well, first there was a mmm-sound, but the second thing she uttered was: They really melt in your mouth! (Or literally, she said melt on your tongue, because that’s what we say in Norway) Little did she know that this recipe was actually named “Melt in your mouth scones”. So, I guess that leaves me no other choice than calling them that, though I feel I steal the heading from it’s origin. But, at least I’ve explained myself.

I found the recipe at savorysweetlife, and after one look at that picture, there was no going back. It looked divine, like the rest of the photos there. A really beautiful blog that’s become a recent favourite of mine. And now that I have all this raw jam, this was perfect. It didn’t take long either. Within 30 minutes you can take a bite into these babies. I haven’t made scones for many many years, because I get my supply from work. And I’ve been thinking they are the best, so why bother making my own? Well, I’m glad I did. They were so delicious, and with a completely different texture. Light and crumbly and let’s net forget, they melt in your mouth. Say it with me! Melt in your mouth! Ok, I think you’re ready. I think you got it by now. Make these scones, bring out your best china, serve them with jam, butter or cream and a cup of tea, and feel them melt in your mouth.

Ingredients:
4,5 dl flour
1 ts baking powder
4 ts sugar
1/2 ts salt
4 ts cold butter
1,7 dl heavy cream
1 egg slightly beaten
1 ts vanilla

Directions:
Preheat oven to 200 C. Put flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and butter in a food processor. Pulsate everything for a few seconds, until everything resembles course meal. Transfer everything to a large bowl and stir in the heavy cream, egg and vanilla. Mix together until the dough is slightly sticky, but dry enough to be rolled out. On a floured surface roll out the dough and cut in desired shapes. I rolled it out, cut it in 10 pieces (though it was meant to be 16, but they must have been miniature scones) and made little squares with my hands. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes until the bottoms are golden brown. Cool on a wire rack, but not for too long. They are best served while still warm. Especially paired with a thick layer of homemade jam and whipped cream. It’s allright, there’s hardly any sugar in them, so you need to even it out. Enjoy!

scones and tea

5 thoughts on “Melt in your mouth scones

  1. I dont make scones as often as I should. They are delicious and yours look fantastic. Lovely plates and cup, I dont know what that pattern is called but it makes me think of my Mom and her collection.🙂

Leave a Reply

