Norwegian waffles

waffles and jam

Sunday afternoon. What to do, what to do. It’s raining. I mean it’s really raining. Seriously raining. Non stop, pouring down, like it only can in this city. I almost forgot how wet it can get here. But it’s Sunday, so I don’t need to leave the house under any circumstances whatsoever. That would have to be to get some missing ingredient for whatever I decided to bake, because these days are made for staying inside baking. Well, I can’t say there was much baking involved after all. I decided to make waffles, because I had all the necessary ingredients. Even though the shops are literally around the corner from my flat, and it would take me no more than 5 minutes to get there and back, I wouldn’t go out today. It was that wet. So waffles it was.

That’s the great thing about waffles. You can use whatever you have in the fridge. It comes out good anyhow. And it’s a Norwegian tradition. Everyone makes it, everyone likes it, and not a week goes by without a waffle being eaten in the average Norwegian home. And every home has their own recipe, so there are many variations. Soured milk or sour cream is common, but can be replaced by fresh milk. Whatever you have really. It’s a nice way to clean up your fridge. Get expired products to use or use that last dab of milk/youghurt/ice cream/buttermilk or other dairy you might have. I had some eggyolks and expired youghurt waiting to perform, so into the waffles they went. I usually don’t use youghurt or buttermilk in my waffles, but that depends on how you like them. I like my waffles a little crunchy, so I add a little water, that makes them nice and crispy. And the rest is up to you! But if you need a waffle guideline, it goes something like this. Or you can try this so called perfect waffle recipe (in norwegian)

2 eggs
3 dl flour
2 dl melted butter
½ teaspoon baking powder
2 dl milk
2 dl vann
1/4 teaspoon cardamom
some sugar – depends how sweet you want them.

Stir everything together, and let it stand for about 30 minutes. Fry in a preheated waffle iron, preferably heartshaped. (And whether there should be 4 or 5 hearts is an eternal discussion, but there should be 5. End of discussion.) Spoon 2/3 cup of batter onto the preheated waffle iron at a time. Close the iron and cook until steam no is no longer coming out and the waffle is browned. Serve with butter and sugar (my favourite) or jam and sour cream and a cup of strong coffee. Mmm. Who needs to go out?

waffles

Leave a Reply

