Noodles and veggies

noodles and veggies

I’ve had serious noodle-cravings lately. I love noodles, always have and always will, but I don’t eat it that much longer. When I was younger, and discovered noodles for the first time, I made myself a bowl for supper several times a week. I loved that hot soup and the noodles together, and my personal touch, a few slices of cheese that meltet into the noodles…. yum. So every now and then I remember the noodle-days, and start dreaming about some noodle dish. Like today. My body was also craving vegetables after a rough weekend. And you might think I had too much to drink. Nope. Not alcohol-related rough, but rough in the matter of food. There were burgers, pizza, cookies, chocolate and sushi – all meat, cheese, sugar and wheat and hardly anything green. And I do need my veggies. My body doesn’t handle all that meat that well, and no one shouldn’t eat too much meat anyway. So today noodles and veggies were on the menu!

I had bought some eggnoodles and broccoli, and decided to leave the rest to whatever my fridge contained. It was like always packed with stuff, but I somehow managed to pull out some mushroom, spring leek and cabbage in addition to the broccoli. I chopped, boiled and stir fried, and that was that, and pretty good too!

Ingredients (2 people)
200 g eggnoodles
1/3 broccoli
2-3 champingons
2-3 spring leeks
2 handfuls chopped cabbage
Garlic and chili

Bring a pan of water to the boil, add the noodles, cook for a couple of minutes til it’s al dente, then remove from heat and drain. Chop the vegetables in more or less equally sized bites. Heat some oil (sunflower or corn) in a wok, and add the broccoli and mushrooms. Stir fry for a few minutes til it starts to soften and colour, then add the rest of the veggies. At the end stir in finely chopped garlic and chili.

Seasoning
1 teaspoon honey/brown sugar
1 teaspoon 5 spice powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2-3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon maizena
water

Mix everything together, and add water until it reaches desired consistency. You want it to be like a sauce, runny, yet a little syrupy and thicker. I didn’t really measure up the spices, so taste to see if it needs more of anything! When you have your tasty seasoning sauce ready, pour it over the noodles, and serve! Yumyum on a plate!

Leave a Reply

