Blueberry Baked Oatmeal

3 Aug

My first day of my vacation! Ah, sweet sweet freedom. And I got a letter yesterday, telling me I’m starting my studies of nutrition in Copenhagen in a month! Yaay! Now, if this doesn’t call for a celebration, I don’t know what does. And I knew exactly how to mark this very special day. And no, not with a cake, for once. Today I wanted something else, something that says summer holiday: An extravaganza breakfast. I haven’t made a decent breakfast the last couple of weeks since I’ve been working. And when you work at a bakery, well…you don’t take time eating breakfast or bringing any sort of lunch. I eat there. And as much as I love a good breakfast, sitting down enjoying my meal, reading the paper or just looking out the window contemplating about the day to come, I haven’t done that in a while. I’ve been waking up early, and eating a quick slice of bread once at work. But that routine, my friends, ended today.

Today I took my time, making a breakfast that took 40-50 minutes, and it was so worth it. I thought I had nothing better to do on my first day off, and I had been wanting to make this since I first spotted the recipe, but I never got around to it. I found it at beckybakes.net. One look, and I fell in love.
Besides, 1-hour-breakfasts are for special occasions. I like a nice breakfast, but I also like to sleep, so I wouldn’t get up an hour earlier just to make this. But today, I had nothing on my agenda, so I got up 8.30 to make this, and an hour later me and the boyfriend could enjoy a serious breakfast. Coffee and everything! Lovely!

It was sweeter and heavier than I imagined, quite cake-like. Or crumble-like. Well, quite frankly, and between us, it was a crumble. But that means it was good! Just a little over the top for breakfast, but this is such a day, so it was ok. This was my first encounter with baked oatmeal. It was really good and I loved the crunchy buttery crust. And the addition of blueberries were divine. Perfect combo. I guess there are healthier versions, but hey, that wasn’t really on my mind this morning. Not exactly. I paired it with a good dollop of sour cream, and that was perfect. Since it was quite heavy, I even have some leftovers that will make a nice treat to Grey’s Anatomy tonight!

Blueberry Baked Oatmeal

1 1/4 cups blueberries
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup honey
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
¾ cups butter, divided
2 cups rolled oats
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
¼ teaspoons baking soda
½ teaspoons salt
4 tbsp. brown sugar

Preheat oven to 200C/350° F.
Melt butter. Pour 1/4 cup into the bottom of a 9-inch square baking dish.
Sprinkle blueberries and 2 tbsp of brown sugar on top of the butter. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, mix together the soy milk, honey, eggs, remaining butter and vanilla.
In a large bowl, whisk together oats, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well.
Pour over the fruit and smooth the top. Sprinkle with remaining 2 tbsp. of brown sugar.
Bake at 350°F for 40 to 50 minutes, or until browned on top and fruit is bubbly. Allow to cool slightly. Serve with milk or cream. Or like I did, sour cream. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

