Detox by tofu

So, I got back from the countryside yesterday. I spent almost a week there with my family. Somehow we managed to find a weekend where we all were free. Even though my boyfriend could only stay the weekend, I still think it’s pretty amazing we all could get together in the middle of summer. My parents, myself, my two sisters, 2 boyfriends and one niese. It was really nice. I love spending time there, it’s so beautiful. But it’s very dependant of the weather, cause there’s really not that much to do. But one thing is sure – there’s always good food. And when the weather is so so, the eating increases. The weather wasn’t all that bad, but it wasn’t really good either. So we stayed inside munching. My mother made pancakes that we ate with freshly made blueberry and raspberry jam, I made an oreo-like cake, my boyfriend made his famous burgers, my dad bought his favourite danishes at the local shop and we ate tons of chocolate. And drank lots and lots of coffee. So now my body’s been acostumized to coffee and cake every day around 13.00. One gets easily used to that, I can tell you. But strangely, yesterday, I wasn’t in the mood for something sweet the entire day. Very unlike me! Sugar-overdose, perhaps? Well, well. It was time to get back to reality. It was time to eat healthy. It was time to detox.

I haven’t really done anything today exept going shopping for groceries. But I found a cheap pack of tofu, and decided to make something out of that. I’m a tofu virgin, so this was quite new to me! I was thinking to chop it into pieces and make some kind of stir fry, but then I found an interesting recipe at tastespotting. Grilled tofu! It looked really nice, and simple to make, so I went for it! Turned out lovely! Tofu is good, not as dull as many people say. I have had it before many year ago, but I’ve never prepared it. It was delicious, and probably something I’ll be making again. Now that tofu has entered my life…

Grilled Tofu (recipe adapted from iowagirleats.com)
(serves 2)

1 package extra firm tofu, pressed & sliced into 6 pieces
2 Tablespoons soy sauce
2 Tablespoons oyster sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon chili powder
Sprinkle red pepper flakes

Combine all ingredients and marinate tofu slices for 10 minutes. Spray grilling surface with non-stick spray and grill for 3-4 minutes a side. Serve with brown rice and stir-fried broccoli! Simple and healthy, and most importantly, really tasty!

3 thoughts on “Detox by tofu

  1. Looks like a delicious recipe. I love tofu and we eat it all the time here. Its funny how some people will turn up their nose to it. As long as it’s cooked right, it can be really good. Glad you had a good family trip.

Leave a Reply

