Beetroot salad with pearl barley

I’ve fallen in love with beetroot. It’s actually good! Who would have known….Well, I didn’t. It’s a new aquintance in my life. Until now, my only beetroot-experiences have been limited to the pickled kind. And that’s never been a favourite of mine, so that was the end of that story, I thought. I was never really aware there was such a thing as raw beetroot. I didn’t deny it, I just never thought about it. Beetroot, to me, came from a jar. So I had to turn 28, move to Denmark and start studying nutrition to make this discovery. Beetroot exists! Even outside jars! Well, well. Better late than never. But now I have some catching up to do!

My very first meeting with this new love, was when we where making chocolate-beetroot cake for a happening at school. Needless to say, I was scheptical. But, the cake was lovely, and won me over once and for all. I’ll be making that again – healthy chocolate cake? yes please!

But, I couldn’t really taste it inside a cake, but when it appeared in a salad we got at a party, I decided to give it a go. And it was so good, and so much better than expected! Sweet, crunchy and gorgeous purple. From that point, it was official. I’m a beetroot lover! The following day I bought a 2kg bag of beetroots, that I’m still working my way through. I’ve already made this salad a couple of times, it’s so easy to toss together with whatever you have! Besides, it’s delicous and healthy, you can just feel it’s good for you. I love that. There’s really no recipe or measurements, but this is what I used today anyway! You could also throw in some avocado, that’s really good, and replace the pumpkin seeds with pistachios. And giving instructions aren’t really neccesary, but I do it anyway. For you. So greet your beetroot, and go ahead!

Barley Beetroot Salad
Beetroot
Pearl Barley
Spinach
Red onion
Red Cabbage
Fresh Coriander
Pumpkin seeds/Pistachios

Peel the beetroot and cut it in bite-size chunks.
Boil the pearl barley after instructions.
Cut the cabbage and the onion in rings.
And the avocado if you’re using that.
Now put a generous amount of spinach onto a big plate. Pour over the barley and vegetables. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil, salt and freshly grounded pepper. Garnish with coriander, and serve!

Leave a Reply

