Greek Salad – summer rescue!

It’s been a long cold lonely winter, but the it’s mid-march and spring is here! Well, that’s what the calender says anyway, but that’s not really in sync with reality. I was sitting here listening to one of my Beatles’ favourite songs, Here comes the sun, ready to embrace the season with spring, flowers and sunshine when all of a sudden it started SNOWING? Wtf? Ok, I know that’s not unusual in march, it always happens in Norway anyway. But I thought I’d escaped that, that I’d be safe here, now that I’ve moved to Denmark. That winter would be over when it’s supposesed to be, which is now. But no, it started to snow, it continued to snow, and the streets were white when I got up this morning… (One the bright side, I did see the weather as an excuse to make myself a nice cup of hot cocoa with whipped cream, but that’s another story…) But today I thought when summer isn’t coming to me, I have to come to summer! And no, I’m not on a one-way-plane to a Greek isle, unfortunately, but I do have the next best thing – Summer feel in the form of summer flavours, in the form of Greek salad! One of my all time favourites. Probably because it brings back nice memories of summer and sun. And that was exactly what was needed today. Summer in a bowl. And it helped! I didn’t mind looking out on the snow, when I had this! Plus it’s so easy to throw together, so if you too miss the summer, make this and dream yourself away to a little greek taverna along the beach…Instant summer is on your way! Help is near!

Greek Salad (recipe from Allrecipes.co.uk)

3 large ripe tomatoes, cut into medium pieces or wedges
2 cucumbers, sliced
1 green pepper
1 small red onion, thinly sliced (if you can’t spot any onion on the pictures it’s cause I didn’t remember it until after the photos…)
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano/greek salad mix, if you’re lucky to have some like me!
200 g pack feta cheese, crumbled
handful black Greek olives, pitted if desired

Directions:
In shallow salad bowl, combine tomatoes, cucumber and onion. Sprinkle with salt to taste and let sit for a few minutes so that the salt can draw out the natural juices from the tomato and cucumber.
Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with oregano, and pepper to taste. Sprinkle feta cheese and olives over salad. Serve.

Tip:
Letting the salted tomatoes and cucumbers sit for awhile before adding any oil is essential to a good Greek salad. The natural acidic juices from the tomato combine with the olive oil to make a delicious dressing, with no need for vinegar or lemon juice. Crusty bread is also a must so you can mop up every last bit of juice!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Greek Salad – summer rescue!

Leave a Reply

