Pea and prawn risotto

I really don’t have any new year’s resolutions.
Healthier better life? Don’t think so. I mean, why bother, we all know how that eventually turns out. Nah, I’m content with the way things are, so I’ll just continue down that road.

But then it hit me – why not make some fun resolutions? Resolutions that you can actually look forward to! And what would that possibly be, you say. Food, I say. Of course. I already have a list of bookmarked recipes that I want to make. And I have lots and lots of cookbooks, which I honestly don’t use that much. I like to read them, though. Sit down with a cup of tea, a nibble and a cookbook, and read it, yes – as a novel, but I rarely use them as a source of recipes. For that I have the internet. Damn Tastespotting. It’s hard to ignore.

So I decided.

New year’s resolution 1: I will try out more new recipes.
This is escpecially dinner-wise I’m thinking. I tend to make the same things over and over again, but with all my cookbooks, not to mention all the food blogs out there, there should be plenty of inspiration for me to shake things up a bit.

New year’s resolution 2: I will plough through one of my cookbooks.
As often as possible, but at least once a month, I’ll pick a recipe from the chosen book and make it.
Haven’t decided which one yet.

And starting now, I present to you, Jamie Oliver’s Pea & Prawn risotto. (Alright, I found the recipe online, but I’ve never made it before!) It was absolutely delicious. I’m a huge risotto fan to start with, and adding prawns – it had to be a hit. And it was. I loved the sweetness the peas provided, together with the garlicky prawns and buttery risotto…. What can I say. This is so added to my dinner repertoire! I’m looking forward to future favourite recipes beeing discovered this year!

Pea & Prawn risotto

Ingredients (serves 2)
200g Arborio rice
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
half an onion, finely chopped
small glass of white wine
1 pint chicken stock
150g cooked king prawns
50g frozen peas
30g freshly grated parmesan cheese
2-3 knobs of butter
salt and black pepper

As usually I didn’t have wine – but don’t leave it out if you have some!
I also left out the parmesan. In my mind that didn’t seem to go well with the prawns! But I’m not sure… Let me know if it turns out good!

Heat the chicken stock in a pan to a very gentle simmer.
Heat the olive oil in a large pan with a knob of butter. Gently fry the garlic and onion over a medium heat, until the onion is softened and almost transparent. Add the rice and coat with the olive oil, garlic and onion mix. Cook for 2 minutes.

Pour in the white wine and cook until the liquid is absorbed. Once absorbed, add a spoon of the simmering stock and cook until absorbed. Continue until all of the stock is absorbed and the rice is al dente. Stir in the remaining butter, the parmesan cheese, prawns and peas and seasoning. Cook gently for a minute or so to warm the prawns and cook the peas.
Sprinkle with maldon salt and freshly grounded pepper, and serve.

Leave a comment