Enchiladas – leftover style

I still have a serious hung up on mexican food. I can’t get it out of my system. I guess I just have to cook and eat myself through a number of dishes until I feel satisfied. That won’t be anytime soon, though… Oh no.
I do blame the weather too. You can always blame the weather – whatever it is and for whatever you like. It’s always good to have someone to blame, and the weather is nice that way. Today was a cooold rainy day. A typical stay inside day. But I had school, and had to go out. Brrr. And stupid as I am, I didn’t bring an umbrella since it wasn’t raining the very moment I left the house, though I KNEW it was going to rain. What I didn’t know was that the rain would turn into snow… The nasty kind. Half rain half snow, very wet, and very very cold. So I got stuck at school for a few more hours than I planned, and starting thinking about food. Food that would take the edge of this cold and rainy day. I wanted something warm and comforting. Something spicy. Something with a little heat to defrost myself. Something……Mexican.

So I packed my bags and forced myself to go out, with the image of a nice meal on my mind, just to keep me going. I wasn’t really sure what to make at this point, but I stopped by a supermarket to get some necessary basic tex-mex ingredients and made my way home. Cilantro, corn, tortillas, beans, mushrooms, leeks, salsa and chicken was what I came home with. Hmm. Where do we go from here? Oh yes. I know. The big old internet. After some quick research I figured this was a day for enchiladas. I thought of quesadillas too, but enchiladas seemed more right. More of everything I wanted. However, when I turned on the oven and was ready to shake things up wannabe-mexican-style, (I’ll not even try to persuade anyone this is even related to authentic mexican food at all. Because it’s probably not) I opened the fridge and saw a lot of leftovers. Cake, (saving that for ugly betty tonight!) a burger from saturday, potatoes to go with it, some cream cheese frosting and yesterday’s stir fry leftovers. Especially that last thing caught my attention. It was a lot of it, it tasted really good yesterday and I absolutely hate to throw food, so I just had to use it. It consisted of mushrooms, onion, carrot and beef. And rice. And after adding some spices, some more veggies and corn, it turned into a mexican fiesta deluxe! It was sooo good. Exactly what I needed today. It’s good to give in to your cravings. You should try it. If you want to try this, here’s more or less what I did!

Ingredients
(Serves 2)
3 tortillas
100 g beef
1 onion
1 clove garlic
1 carrot
3 champignons
1 small can of corn (200 ml)
cumin
chili
2 leeks
cilantro
sour cream
salt and pepper
boiled rice
grated cheese

Directions
Chop the vegetables into small bite size pieces. Heat some oil in a pan and add the spices, onion and garlic. Stir fry for a couple of minutes and add the carrot and mushrooms. Fry for a few minutes until it start to soften and turn golden. Add the corn and rice and remove from heat. Warm the tortillas in the microwawe or on a pan to make them easier to work with. Distribute the filling evenly onto the tortillas and sprinkle half of the grated cheese over them. Put them in an oven proof greased pan, fold them together and cover with salsa and the remaining grated cheese. Bake them for 10-15 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the tortillas are turning golden around the edges.

Serve immediately with guacamole, pico de gallo or whatever tickles your fancy. I made a salad of corn, cucumber and cilantro to go with it. And a good dollop of sour cream. It was really tasty. Really tasty.

Leave a comment