Roasted broccoli and prawns

I just had this for dinner – and I could not believe how something so simple could be so tasty! Broccoli never tasted better. Well I like broccoli either way, but I knew this was a hit when even my boyfriend loved this dinner, despite it’s health factor! “This broccoli munch-munch- is so tasty! That was kind of surprising!” Those were his exact words. Now that’s a success. Another dish added to my repertoire.

I spotted this dish on the amateur gourmet, probably the funniest food blog there is. I was very intrigued about this way of preparing broccoli. That was new to me!The broccoli turns crispy and caramelized, adding Middle Eastern spices (cumin seeds, coriander seeds), and then prawns… well so few and simple ingredients can acutally transform into a meal. A very good meal. Plus it couldn’t be easier. I followed the recipe, but didn’t measure anything up. No need to. Go with the flow. Plus I added some sugar peas and zucchini as well.

Roasted broccoli and prawns

Heat the oven to 210 C (450)

On a large cookie sheet, toss together 1 broccoli cut up into florets (medium-sized. Small enough to get the sides nice and caramelized, but you still want some al-dente resistance!)
2 Tbs olive oil,
1 teaspoon whole coriander seeds (or 1/2 tsp. ground)
1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds (or 1/2 tsp. ground)
1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper and 1/8th tsp hot chili powder.
Spread into a single layer and pop into the oven for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, toss together the prawns, shelled and deveined, with 2 Tbs olive oil, lemon zest from one lemon, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in a bowl. When the broccoli’s been in the oven 10 minutes, add the shrimp to the broccoli and toss carefully.

Roast another 10 minutes, tossing once halfway through, until the broccoli is “tender and golden around the edges.”

And that’s your dinner!
I served it in a big bowl of rice.
So simple. So delicious.

5 thoughts on “Roasted broccoli and prawns

Leave a comment