Chicken cobb burger

I can’t seem to get enough of burgers. I think my mind – and body – is set to make up for all the uneaten burgers in my past. (And this comes from a girl working 2 years in Burger King, where I had a burger for lunch every day for those two years. Good thing I got out before it was too late.) But at that time, that particular burger was the only one I would even consider eating. And that probably was my gateway to burger heaven. Or hell, depending on how you see things. The burger who started it all was a chicken burger. At the time, a beef burger was out of the question. Later, I discovered that a beef burger can be really tasty if you make it yourself, and cannot be compared to anything served in a fast food joint. So the inevitable happened: Beef burger overdose. We made it a little too often, and grew tired of it. (Or my boyfriend did – I still have room for some more) Last burger meal he said he wouldn’t have it for at least 2 years! Two years and no burger! I can’t live like that anymore. Time to get creative.

I went to the library and borrowed a burger book. “Burgers“. I’ve previously borrowed it and knew it had several great options for us burger lovers. I was thinking vegetarian at first, but when I saw the picture of a chicken burger with avocado and melted blue cheese, my mind was made. It was named Chicken Cobb Burger, and the recipe was based on the classic cobb salad.

Chicken Cobb Burger ( recipe by Paul Gayler)

750 g corned chicken
1 small onion finely chopped
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 teaspoon hot pepper-saus
1 tablespoon sour cream
salt and pepper
oil for frying

(I substituded pepper saus with extra ketcup and chili powder. I also added some chopped chili nuts for an extra crunch)

Directions
In a bowl add the chicken, chopped onion, ketchup and hot pepper saus and stir it together. Blend in the sour cream, salt and pepper and leave it in the fridge for 1 hour.

Wet your hands and form 4 equally sized burgers. Brush generously with oil.

Fry the burgers 4-5 minutes on each side, until they’re golden and fried all through.

Toast the buns in the oven until they get a slightly crispy crust.
Put on some lettuce and a burger. Top with slices of avocado and fine onion rings. Top with crumbled blue cheese and leave the burgers in the oven for a minute, or until the cheese starts to melt. Top it of with another bun, and if you’re like me, do spread generously with Hellmanns Mayo.

And then, sit back and enjoy the show. Or world cup, if you’re into that. Or preferably give it your undivided attention, cause it truly deserves it. It’s so moist and has the perfect combination of flavours and textures. A soft and spicy patty, crispy onion rings and lettuce, tender avocado and melted blue cheese – everything wrapped in a toasted bun with mayo. And if I may say so, my addition of chopped chili nuts inside the patty was really the finishing touch. I served it with oven-baked fries. So crispy and fatty. So delicious. Dipped in Hellmanns mayonnaise and fresly grated pepper. Of course. Is there any other way? (Some Burger King habits die hard…)

If you’re looking for a new burger recipe, look no further. This is so easy and tasty, and quick! And you get a lot of flavour from a few ingredients. From one burger lover to another – I can give my recommandations!

One thought on “Chicken cobb burger

  1. I’m vegan so I obviously wouldn’t do chicken burgers, but I think there is some faux meat I could use and follow the rest of the recipe. I love going to the library. My only problem is that I’m frequently late in returning the books. I don’t know why! I’m afraid they have a poster with my picture up there…otherwise I would go more often!

Leave a comment